This is one of the main concepts of Flylady that I have overlooked each and everytime. I was the mytar she talks about. It was me that went around whining and complaining about housework! I was being so negative about it. It just became so stressfull and I became a procrastinator. If I couldn't do it right, I wasn't going to even start it in the first place. Why try anyways, it's going to be a mess again soon. I was negative and I had excuses for everything!! ESPECIALLY, feeling sorry for myself!!! I mean come on! I'm not the only one who lives here! Why do I have to do all the work!???
Well, her book addresses this and so much more. It really hit home with me. How can I expect my husband to help out when I complain so much about doing it myself??? Why not just get it done with a smile (you gotta do it anyways, might as well make it look fun!) and then just wait for the others to help. Surprisingly in just a 2 weeks this little trick has worked. I stopped complaining (out loud, LOL!) and just did my work. The hubbs started pitching in. Nothing major mind you, but small steps. Maybe later on he'll want to help even more??? Ha ha!! Maybe, maybe not... Either way, a clean house relieves stress for yourself (and family as well) so your really giving your family a huge gift by doing this. Less stress in the family equals a happier family! You do the math!
Another major thing I am guilty of is not taking care of myself. Since the baby has arrived it's all about him and housework. Me? Well, I took care of myself when time permitted, which wasn't often. This behavior leads to low self esteem. Low self esteem leads to stress and depression. In turn this becomes a viscous cycle of you being unhappy and unmotivated to do anything. This equals things piling up, housework being ignored or overlooked..... it's just not something that will be productive or beneficial to yourself at all. I am guilty of waking up with the baby. When he cries my feet hit the floor and I run to his side. I change him and then I'm off to the kitchen to find my little munchkin a healthy breakfast. I sit him down make sure he eats, play, change, clean, try to squeeze in some educational things for baby cakes, feed him lunch, play some more, put him down for a nap, and ahhhhhhhhhhhh! It's just me! I'm then burnt out and realize I haven't eaten anything at all! Then on my way past a mirror I glance at myself.. WHO IS THAT MONSTER!!! LOL! My hair is ever which way, my skin is a wild mess... then I look down at my clothes... didn't I wear this yesterday????? UGH! And now I have to do housework??? No thanks.. off for a nap or a bite to eat from my empty fridge. God forbid if the UPS man knocked on my door during this time. I was such a mess! I would hide! Then if it needed a signature and I found the note instead of the package I ordered I would be mad at myself!
Has any of this happened to anyone else?????
Well, my next step to flying is to wake up about 30 - 60 minutes before baby cakes wakes up. YIKES! That means 6am! that will be hard. This means an earlier bed time... yada yada yada.... But I know I need to do this for myself. I need to wake up, eat, relax, have my coffee, check my emails, and just have some me time to start off my day. OH! and of course I need to wash my face, brush my hair, dress in some clean clothes! LOL! I'm not on the whole "lace up shoes" ban wagon just yet, so I think this is a good step in the right direction. I'm more of a barefoot/flipflops kinda gal!
No comments:
Post a Comment